Skip to content

Of Canvas, Linen and Nylon

February 13, 2010

It’s only Feb and the weather is unbelievable, I feel like we are in the middle of Summer — I already dread to think how our actual summer is going to be — I was checking out the new arrivals at Saks and here are a bunch of non-leather bags that I think will be great for summer use.

The Prada Canapa Tote – really nice linen tote with leather handles and quite roomy too.  I think it’s  little pricey though for the material (Php 62k) but I do love how it looks:

Of course Prada’s Nylon bags are a staple but they have another version of their Nylon tote, the Pocket Nylon Tote (php 27k).  I always wondered why Prada nylon bags were expensive but you know – I have a nylon pouch that is around 15 years old – colorwise, it’s not as black as it used to be but it is in great condition – not a stitch is out of place.  I guess you really get what you pay for…

The Prada Saffiano Fori Tote. Okay this is leather but it’s perforated so it does fall under the summer bag category  (Php 71k)

Tods G-Bag Sacca Grande Linen Tote.  I have always liked this style – it’s quite similar to the Prada linen tote but cheaper (Php 39k)

Anya Hindmarch Wine Tote – so cute and only Php 6k

Kate Spade Bon Mot Bon Shopper Bag (Php 9k) cute summer tote – expensive for what it is (at least I think so)

YSL now has a linen version of the Roady (YSL Linen hobo – coated linen Php 62k) in pink and natural:

and now the Muse comes in nylon ( Php 57k) –

Yup, the YSLs aren’t that much cheaper considering it’s not leather… but if you have the money to spare 🙂 all available on Saks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. PVM permalink
    February 15, 2010 6:23 PM

    Actually, maybe you guys can help me. I’m looking for a back-to-school bag that’s light and roomy (with pockets) that I can sling over my shoulder. I’m starting my Le Cordon Bleu classes in March and will have to travel to London by train at least 3x a week. Because of my bad back I can’t carry around a heavy bag for very long. So if you guys have any ideas…

  2. PVM permalink
    February 15, 2010 6:25 PM

    Oh and it’ll have to fit my normal stuff (wallet, phone etc) plus my ipod, my knife set, a notebook, a scale (depending on whether they give me my own locker at the school, the scale btw is very light and small).

  3. NZA permalink
    February 16, 2010 8:56 PM

    PVM – that is so cool! My friend took classes at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris for a summer. She said it was hard work but absolutely loved it. Very exciting. Hmm. Hopefully we can find the perfect bag for you. Maybe even one that can work as a messenger would be good.

  4. Ina permalink*
    February 17, 2010 7:55 PM

    Wow Trish, Congrats! That’s great! will start searching for a bag for you!

Leave a Reply

