Skip to content

More Good News

December 17, 2009
tags:

Not the Good News bag but news about another one 🙂  Please say hello to Ms. Massai GM in Havanne (brownish-burgundy) Clemence leather with Gold Hardware (sorry, took this pic at the office – my room is a mess!)


I am so much happier with the GM size.  I returned the PM and found this GM on EvilBay – mint condition Massai made in 1998! (carried once but looks like it was never used) It actually looks brand new, with the original paper inside the box (which is obviously not as white as it once was). I seem to be pretty lucky so far in finding good items on ebay (well, lucky with finding pristine items…  price-wise, this wasn’t cheap – in fact, it was almost the same price as my Curry Massai (2009), nice to know that Hermès holds it’s value but the person who bought this in 1998 definitely made some money — so, take care of your babies!).

There are differences though with the earlier Massais versus the newer ones.  The older ones have cloth lining while the newer models have the toile lining:

Toile lining for newer models

The older ones also don’t have the leather square tag (as seen above), the tags are stamped on the handle.  The blind stamp on the older Massai is on the end of the strap beside the Hermes stamp (see pic below) while the newer ones are found under the leather portion of the inner zipper pocket.

Such a good find!  Even the hardware is flawless! no scratches!  Sigh.  Now the wait for So.K 2011 begins…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. PVM permalink
    December 17, 2009 8:09 PM

    Oh, nice color – it didn’t seem brown-burgundy in the first pic you posted. I didn’t realize you had purchased this one at ebay. Was it a good deal? Did you have it sent via Johnny air?

  2. Ina permalink*
    December 17, 2009 8:25 PM

    Thanks 🙂 I was supposed to get it from a store but then I saw this on ebay and I thought the color was a good dark neutral (the other one I was thinking of was a raisin colored one from Sing). I decided to go with the ebay one because it cost less.

    yup had it shipped through Johnny Air – it was a pretty good deal – a little lower than retail price (although I didn’t realize it was a 1998 bag). I was very surprised because the condition is fantastic. You would never have thought it was kept that long. It really looks brand new.

    The only reason why I decided to research on the date of the blind stamp was because I noticed the lining was different and it didn’t have the square leather tag – got worried for a nanosecond thinking that I got scammed 😛 thank God for purseforum. But I did write a very worried letter to the seller (who I might have offended- hehe oops, just a natural reaction – I hope she doesn’t get too upset with me. She sounds very decent and Hoity-toity 🙂 )

  3. NZA permalink
    December 17, 2009 10:11 PM

    Very very nice! I’m so afraid of ebay cause I’m so not educated about all the little details. Everytime I read about that stuff, my head spins. *sigh* what to buy in 2010. I already have my eye on a few things. On another note, you know what color I’m loving? The etoupe! and i think my fave leather is the togo.

  4. Ina permalink*
    December 17, 2009 11:17 PM

    I am such an ebay believer… only because when I consign my items to be sold, sometimes the people I send it too sell it in ebay – so I have faith that there are people out there that sell the real thing and take care of their things like I do. But it always helps to ask forums and ask the seller all the questions that need to be asked. I’ve been scammed once, around 6 years ago – I was in the States and bored and decided to give ebay a try (luckily it wasn’t so expensive but enough to make it hurt). It took a while for my faith to be restored but it’s also a plus that there are so many forums and so many experts that you can consult with easily. The internet just makes the world so much smaller.

    I can shop on ebay for you if you want 🙂

Leave a Reply

