Skip to content

Bag Update

November 24, 2009

I was in London today to renew my LO’s passport.  So, I took the opportunity to pass by Harrods since it was the closest department store near the Spanish embassy.  Since I was with a tired, hungry 3 yr-old and I still had a 1 1/2 to 2 hr drive back, I decided to quickly browse through their bag department after lunch.  First I looked at the Valextra bag – and, you’re right.  I still like the bag because it is so well-made BUT the design is kind of blah.

Then I saw the most gorgeous shade of red from the Bottega store.  I’m not a big fan of the Bottega weave (mostly because it’s been copied left right and centre – although obviously not to the same quality).  BUT the Veneta hobo in uluru red almost came home with me except I wanted a medium and they only had large and small.

The Tornabuoni  veneta in uluru red is also lovely (a bit more structured because of the double twisted strips of leather) so next time I’m in london (in ten days to pick up the passport) I will put the two side by side and compare.

(pic care of Purse Blog)

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Ina permalink*
    November 24, 2009 11:07 AM

    This is really beautiful – saw the feature in purse blog a while back but never saw it in person – here is the link to that feature: http://www.purseblog.com/bottega-veneta-bags/bottega-veneta-tornabuoni-maxi-veneta.html

    Can’t wait to see the pics! I agree on the Valextra, I do think they’re nice but too conservative for my taste, wouldn’t fit my lifestyle at all.

  2. Ina permalink*
    November 24, 2009 11:08 AM

    I think the large is not bad! and you can definitely pull that size off 🙂

  3. ATQ permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:52 AM

    Its a beauty! I’ve seen this in the flesh and its stunning. Sayang they didn’t have the size you wanted.

  4. NZA permalink*
    November 25, 2009 1:07 PM

    Oh that’s gorgeous!! I agree, the large may be a bit big.

  5. NZA permalink
    November 27, 2009 12:58 PM

    Tricia – its on sale NOW on barneys.com. The medium size. go go go!

  6. PVM permalink
    November 27, 2009 3:30 PM

    I would if I could mail it to myself in the UK.

  7. NZA permalink
    November 27, 2009 11:04 PM

    If you want, you can mail it to me and I can mail it to you… Let me know.

  8. PVM permalink
    November 28, 2009 5:19 AM

    Thanks NZA! I was researching the size though and it seems the Medium is actually the smallest size, which means what I want is the large. The sale price at Barneys though is super! I’m so tempted but it’s probably best if I try it out at the store so I don’t regret it later. I wonder how long the sale is going to last? Btw, what happened to our shoe reveal?

  9. NZA permalink
    November 28, 2009 10:24 AM

    Ok. Definitely check it out and let me know. Oh yes, the shoes 😉 I’m in florida right now for a few days…I will definitely send photos when I get back.b

  10. NZA permalink
    November 29, 2009 9:36 AM

    The Large is now on Barneys.com!!

  11. PVM permalink
    November 29, 2009 5:41 PM

    I looked – and it’s gone! Even the Medium isn’t there anymore. I guess it was snapped up last night! ‘Sigh’…

  12. NZA permalink
    November 30, 2009 6:07 AM

    Oh man!!! If you really want, you can try to call the store..

  13. NZA permalink
    November 30, 2009 9:07 PM

    Tricia- try Net a porter. The US site is having a sale on this bag as well!

  14. PVM permalink
    November 30, 2009 9:17 PM

    How do you find out these things? I checked out N-a-P but they only have the chocolate on sale. I think my luck is running thin – haha.

  15. NZA permalink*
    December 1, 2009 7:01 AM

    I surf online too much and read too much purseforum. 😦

  16. Ina permalink*
    December 2, 2009 2:43 PM

    My my, we’ve been busy! Just got back from Bali (where I spent the majority of the trip in bed – I got sick, can you believe????) So, did you finally get the bag?

  17. PVM permalink
    December 2, 2009 11:32 PM

    No not yet but I’m off to London tomorrow so we’ll see!

  18. Ina permalink*
    December 3, 2009 2:20 PM

    I forgot, ICS and I saw this at the Changi Airport on our way to Bali – but the red wasn’t so nice, it was kinda dull so I couldn’t appreciate it so much… Forgot to ask how much it was there…

  19. PVM permalink
    December 3, 2009 2:27 PM

    is the red different from the uluru red?

  20. Ina permalink*
    December 3, 2009 2:36 PM

    I don’t know but it wasn’t really a red – it was like a washed out pinkish red – is Uluru red the same as the pic?

  21. PVM permalink
    December 3, 2009 3:21 PM

    Yes, it was like the pic. Like a very deep coral red. I remember in the store they had the Veneta bag in red (i think they called it fever red) and it was a pinkish red.

  22. PVM permalink
    December 3, 2009 3:24 PM

    I’m wondering now if the uluru red was last season and the new one is the fever red. Ugh – I’ll be so disappointed if they don’t have it at the store.

Leave a Reply

