Skip to content

Walk the Walk and Talk the Talk

November 19, 2009
tags:

If we’re going to do the walk, we better learn the talk…  In fear of sounding like an idiot as I read through all the different styles, colors, etc.  I realized I wasn’t even sure about how to pronounce “Massai” corectly.  Good thing I found this link….and this is the correct pronunciation of Massai (mah-say).

Here are a few other stuff I found on TPF that is helpful (info from various members):

Hermes: Air-MES(z), (S sound is a combo of s and z.)
Colors:
Potiron – Poh-tee-RAW(n) (very subtle n sound as the final syllable)
Rouge Vif – Rooge Veeef
Thalassa – Ta-LAW-suh
Vert Anis – Vair aNEE
Marron Fonce – MA-rone FONsay
Ebene – E-Bain
Cyclamen – See-cla-mon(n)

Bag/Accessory names:
Picotin – Peek-oh-ta(n) – very subtle n
Haut au Courroies – Oa(t) Oh-Kuh-wah. (Courroies is said quickly, almost like KWAH) This, imo, is the trickiest of them all!
Bearn – Bairn
Jige – Jeege (soft g sound at the end)

Leather names:
Chevre – Shev”ruh” (VERY subtle ruh sound at the end)
Clemence – Cle-MAWNCE
Fjord – Feeyord (one syllable)
Vache Liagee – Vaash Liajay (Liagee is said very quickly)

____

I’ll post more as I learn 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. PVM permalink
    November 19, 2009 6:07 PM

    ok so since you’ve peaked my interest on H bags I think if I EVER get one it would be the Bolide 31cm in etaupe or rouge.

  2. Ina permalink*
    November 19, 2009 6:16 PM

    I agree, the Bolide (Bo-Leed – sorry practicing and trying to remember as I learn) would suit you!

    If you don’t mind pre-loved/or pristine condition (hardly touched) bags, here’s a great source:

    http://stores.channeladvisor.com/fashionphile/Hermes

    they have a Bolide but it’s blue. Another place for sometimes pre-loved, sometimes brand new:

    http://www.luxuryexchange.com/shop/hermes/cat_13.html

Leave a Reply

