Skip to content

A Matter of Time

February 23, 2009
tags:

I have to say, Hub has been more than generous the past few months.  I feel lucky but I know this is it for the year— he decided to get me a  “birthday, anniversary, christmas, and any sort of occasion I can come up with this year” gift.

Those who know me would probably say I am not really a watch person.  In fact, from the time we got married in 2000, I had been wearing a $40 Baby-G just up to last year — I bought myself a Suunto when I started running.   Last month, my uncle handed down his Garmin to me since he didn’t use it.  The Garmin looks like a giant computer on the wrist so I only use it when I work out.  

Garmin Forerunner 305

Garmin Forerunner 305

When I got the Garmin, I gave Hub my Suunto so I wanted to buy an everyday watch — my criteria was a rubber strap, black face and would be nice if it had a red accent since I love all things black and red.   I was perfectly happy getting something simple but Hub (who is a major watch fanatic and is slowly building his collection), set out to find me the perfect watch.  Lucky for him I like Men’s watches, I think it fits my personality —  suits him fine because we could share. Over a couple of months now, we looked at so many, from Panerai to Ball to Omega.  Finally, I settled on the Omega Apnea.

Omega Apnea

Omega Apnea

Perfect!  Fit my criteria exactly!  You see, I don’t look at performance (it tells time, so how much performance can a watch have?), re-sale value, mechanism, etc.  After reserving the watch, Hub researched on reviews.  Turns out, this watch had bad mechanical reviews so they discontinued the line.  Of course this spelled out “bad investment” so he didn’t feel like it was worth the money.

When the watch arrived, I told him I just wanted to see it in person.   We headed over to the store, while waiting for the girl in charge, we browsed other brands.   Well, we made a 180 degree turn, taking home this baby instead…

Rolex Datejust in Steel and White Gold 36mm

Rolex Datejust in Steel and White Gold 36mm

 

He said this one would appreciate over time, I would be able to use it casually and even at night—  just think of it as a nice piece of jewelry (that sold it).    I was really hesitant, as beautiful as it is, I felt it was waaaay too much for a non-watch person like me (the price alone could get me a Mahina XXL  AND a Bal RTT).   Well, apparently he thinks I’m worth it  (blush blush, 500 points for him).   But as I stare at my first “adult” watch now (which I suspect will also be my last),  I’m glad he thinks so too 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ICS permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:26 AM

    It’s too bad that the Omega didn’t have good reviews…it’s gorgeous! I really like the Rolex, too. It’s a little more versatile. I don’t really see what kind of face this watch has, but my sister has the same watch with the black sunbeam face. You might want to check it out. =) Go for the watch! =)

  2. Ina permalink*
    February 23, 2009 5:26 AM

    yup he already did 🙂 got it yesterday 🙂

  3. Nikki permalink
    February 23, 2009 9:25 AM

    Wow! What a pretty watch! Very nice! It is a classic and will last forever. What a nice husband you have! Davin said I have to stop reading this blog cause Nich gets you too many things. hahah

  4. ATQ permalink
    February 23, 2009 11:53 AM

    Ins! Congrats to you! Steve is into watches too and look at this this way… like a purse, its something you can pass on to your kids:) 3 snaps for Nich!

  5. PVM permalink
    February 23, 2009 9:44 PM

    You sure have a keeper there Ina…in Nich! Nice watch and a better buy than the Mahina and RTT. My hub needs to get tips from yours. I can’t remember the last time he suggested I get something more expensive than what I ask for unless it’s photo equipment coz then he can play with it too! Yesterday I mused that I would like to upgrade my 30D to a 50D and he said I should just get the 5D Mark II. Yikes! Not sure I want to spend $1K more for a camera when I can just get a bag to add to my collection.

  6. Ina permalink*
    February 24, 2009 8:18 AM

    Thanks thanks, so happy with it – and he won’t share it either coz he’s not used to the face size, too small for him 🙂 so it’s all mine!

    PVM, get the 5D Mark II!!! (Nich will be so jealous) then smuggle a bag on the side (you can always come up with an occasion 🙂

  7. December 5, 2010 2:15 AM

    What you’re saying is totally true. I know that everybody must say a similar thing, but I just believe that you put it in ways that everyone can comprehend. I also love the images you devote here. They fit so properly with what you’re endeavoring to say. I’m sure you’ll reach many people with what you’ve got a chance to say.

Leave a Reply

