Skip to content

Branded knock-offs?

January 31, 2009

As I was walking around Shang last week – I spotted a bag at the Steve Madden store that I swore was the spitting image of the Gucci Hysteria bag. I even tried to swipe a Spy Pic but couldn’t get a decent picture. I tried to memorize the bag name but of course, my memory is really not what it used to be – I should have wrote it down. I’ve been searching all week for that bag online and I finally found it – it’s actually under the Steven line of Steve Madden, the Janine Bag. So tell me, don’t they look alike?

Steven Janine bag on left vs Gucci Hysteria

Steven Janine bag vs Gucci Hysteria

Of course I think that the Hysteria looks better, the Steven bag is obviously a copy (and costs 10% of the Gucci price). Knocks-offs are usually referred to items that are identical (and usually unauthorized but cheaper) copies of a patented, trademarked, or copyrighted product or work. So, with these kinds of cases, because this bag is branded, is it not considered a knock off even if it obviously a copy?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2009 1:43 AM

    I find a lot of stores are doing this. Nine West rips off designer bags all the time, like the Valentino Nuage. Sad.

  2. PVM permalink
    February 1, 2009 3:22 AM

    They totally look alike. However, I’m not sure how I feel about it. Zara is also a culprit, and not just with bags. However, I think designers know that the high street will be copying their designs. The smart ones, again like Zara, H&M or Topshop, will tweak it a bit. Really, it’s the only way for us normal people to be able to wear or use designer designs.

  3. Ina permalink*
    February 1, 2009 7:47 AM

    I usually have no problem with the similar looking bags (like these: https://bagmebaby.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/not-all-bags-need-to-cost-an-arm-and-a-leg/) but direct copies like this… I don’t know, just feels wrong.

  4. February 1, 2009 8:13 AM

    Designers definitely know that their ideas will be replicated.
    I don’t mind when a clothing or handbag designer borrows a shape, fabric or silhouette, but I don’t like direct copies. Take this for instance:
    http://kimberlycouzens.wordpress.com/2008/11/17/nine-west-rips-off-louis-vuittons-shearling-bag/

    I would rather have the real thing though 🙂

  5. Nikki permalink
    February 1, 2009 2:44 PM

    I think its fine cause its not like its a complete knock-off but to I wouldn’t purchase it myself.

  6. liacoco77 permalink
    February 3, 2009 5:08 AM

    They copy all the time and to be quite honest, if you’re not up to date with fashion or the name brands, you won’t realize that you’re buying something copied as well. Case in point, I bought a pair of boots last winter and found out they copied Gucci…actually I should have known better but didn’t realize it… oh well, hubby didn’t like them anyway so only used them twice.

Leave a Reply

